Film. Week 10-GTD-Getting Things Done- Part 2

Image from BiggerPlate.c

Teens are overwhelmed, partly because they don’t yet have the skills to manage the unprecedented amount of stuff that enters their brains each day.  – from LifeHacker.com

“Your mind is for having ideas, not holding them.”

“You can do anything, but not everything.”

― David Allen, (GTD) Getting Things Done for Teens: Take Control of Your Life in a Distracting World

SUMMARY

This and last week, I’ve struggled to have a fluent workflow, due to play rehhersals on Zoom. Through these frustrating times and research on this page, I’ve been practicing on keeping a schedule where I’m able to get things done, aloung with an ok sleep schedule. I plan in the future to reconize when it’s ok to watch something on my phone vs writing a full essay due the next day. Sites like trellol can help with my struggle of organizaion, and plan to look at it from time to time, to add in a new requirment so it doe’nt catch me off guard.

PRACTICE ROOM (TUTORIALS)

CLASSROOM (THEORY & ANALYSIS)

Screenshot 

Through these presentations I can see that the writers have obviously shared a similar struggle that connects us, but I can also point out their creative ways of diving deeper into these struggles with different solutions to combat them. When David Allen talked about the beautiful moon shining through the sky during a frightening time of need and showed some light in that moment internally,  it made me realize of some similar experiences I’ve had. It’s one of those situations where I can be able to identify something positive when I seek it at very high

stakes, sometimes there visible, but most of the time for me, it’s just in my head, where I can create a vision for my own resolving in a more clean outlook, but it does’nt mean it may happen. Could be a result of overload, or extreme focus working through different networks hiding in our thoughts, but it’s shown that everyone has a tipping point, and sometimes people may except those tipping points with the positive things they hold, coming up with excuses and exercising with contrasting thoughts that smoothe’s out the rough surface enough to move forward.

LAB (THEORY PRACTICED)

Screenshot of David Allen TED Talk

Screenshot from Animated Book Summary And Review at YouTube

Examine Two GTD Maps: Basic and Detailed

  1. Detailed map by guccio@文房具社 icensed under CC BY-NC 2.0
  2. Basic map from BiggerPlate.com embedded below

STUDIO (CREATING MAPS)

Come with an idea that popped at the right time.     Exploit that idea by writing it down, and see if it goes anywhere that turns on the journey.    Once the chips are set down and you haed for a destination, get ready to bring the tools with you because the journey is all the motivation you need to use them.       Reconize the map, the risks, the schedule, the amount of time, or there’s no point to to take the journey without avoiding obsticles.     Make a schedule aloung with other work on the side that contributes to your daily responsibility so it does’nt feel like you’re juggling chainsaws, one slip can affect your future.                                

CONTROL ROOM (PRODUCTION)

https://trello.com/b/Ok6zlU0H/getting-things-done-gtd

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

The main thing I’ve learned is that everything we have stored in our heads, is never really as acked as we see tto be, when we put them on simple sticky notes. Our frustration takes hold based on our lack of direction and no scheduling for our work.

WEEKLY ACTIVITY EVALUATION

I’m very influenced by the video of Mr. Allen in the Ted talk. It feels good to get a clear statement about everyday stressful occurrences.

Trello can be helpful if a person is good with technology. It didn’t come easy to me and I felt like it stopped my ability to create freely. I worry that technology will keep me from succeeding in the film industry.  Generally, people who are creative types don’t always understand digital platforms or software. I enjoy writing and creating detailed screenplays but I have a block when it comes to recording this process on a platform like Trello.  The website feels crowded. I know it is supposed to help me organize the process but I prefer to be on my own. In a perfect world I would have a mentor that could help coach me in person or on the phone. The Trello system doesn’t feel unique and it feels less creative. Every time I look at these sites, I always think of how movie makers years ago made amazing films because it was their passion and they were able to hold on to their amazing thoughts without any disturbance of the overcrowded film industry today. I remember, Mr. Leduc, when you said that Orsan Wells knew less about film making then we did, and yet he was able to make one of the greatest movies of all time. So to me, making a film isn’t an office building where everyone is on the same page, but a place where your ideas and thoughts can be printed and create something we’ve never seen before. Right now these platforms feel stale and pointless but I will definitely try to learn as much as I can from them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *